Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Bachelors of Science in Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science offers the undergraduate degree Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BSCS).  As per NU policy and Bologna guidelines, the undergraduate degree program requires a minimum of 240 total ECTS credits.



Technical Electives for the BSCS degree can be satisfied by any non-required course offered by the CS department, as well as the following courses offered by other departments:

  • MATH 351 Introduction to Numerical Methods with Applications
  • MATH 407 Introduction to Graph Theory
  • MATH 417 Cryptography
  • PHYS 270 Computational Physics
  • ROBT 310 Image Processing
  • ROBT 407 Statistical Methods and Machine Learning

Minor in Computer Science

Students from other departments of SST or other schools within NU can earn a “minor” in Computer Science by completing a minimum of six (6) courses, constituting a minimum of 40 ECTS credits.  The two specifically required courses are:

  • CSCI 151 Programming for Scientists and Engineers (8 ECTS credits)
  • CSCI 152 Performance and Data Structures (8 ECTS credits)

The additional 24 ECTS credits must be earned through additional courses offered by the CS department, excluding internships (CSCI 299 and CSCI 399).

Industries where the major can be applied:

  • Computer hardware and software
  • Information Technology
  • Government
  • Education
  • Healthcare and Medicine
  • Banking
  • Military
  • Research and Development in Engineering and Sciences
  • Any sector that uses computers